Thursday, May 23, 2024

PURC U21s off to big dance, Premiers’ season ends  

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Oliver Hughson [with ball] finds a gap in the Pakuranga U21s match against Manukau on Saturday. Times photo Wayne Martin.
As one week remains in the Auckland club rugby season, only two Pakuranga United Rugby Club (PURC) teams remain, having a chance to walk away with some silverware.


The unbeaten PURC U21s headline the day for the east Auckland club as their gritty win over Manukau at the weekend has booked them a ticket to the final.

They will face a strong Grammar TEC side with the hope of finally lifting the Arthur Bayliss Cup after falling short in last year’s final.

Meanwhile, the PURC premier reserve men will have a final of their own as they compete for the Peter Fatialofa Trophy (5th place play-off) this weekend.

The premier reserves will play Puketapapa, who they beat 29-22 earlier in the season.

It wasn’t exactly a positive end to the season for the PURC premier men, who were upset by Papatoetoe in their Jubilee Trophy semi-final.

Auckland Club Rugby Results 15-07-23

Premier Men: 

Gallagher Shield semi-finals:  

SF1: Grammar TEC 17 – Manukau 38

SF2: Ponsonby 17 – University 24

Jubilee Trophy Semi-Finals:  

SF1: PURC 15 – Papatoetoe 26

SF2: College Rifles 18 – Suburbs 20

Portola Trophy Semi-Finals:  

SF1: Eden 22 – Waitemata 22

SF2: Marist LBD – Otahuhu WBD

Premier Reserve Men:  

George Nicholson Trophy Semi-Finals:  

SF1: University 8 – Waitemata 15

SF2: Ponsonby 14 – Manukau 18

Peter Fatialofa Trophy Semi-Finals:  

SF1: College Rifles 15 – PURC 33

SF2: Grammar TEC LBD – Puketapapa WBD

U21 Men:  

Arthur Bayliss Cup Semi-Finals:  

SF1: Manukau Underdogs 10 – PURC 20

SF2: University White 24 – Grammar TEC 27

Stan Foster Memorial Plate Semi-Finals:  

SF1: Ponsonby 29 – College Rifles 31

SF2: Eden 9 – Waitemata 17

Auckland Club Rugby finals fixtures 22/07/23:  

Premier Men  

Gallagher Shield Final (1 v 2): University v Manukau Rovers

Jubilee Trophy Final (5 v 6): Papatoetoe v Suburbs

Portola Trophy Final (9 v 10): Otahuhu v Waitemata

Premier Reserve Men

George Nicholson Trophy Final (1 v 2): Manukau v Waitemata

Peter Fatialofa Trophy Final (5 v 6): Puketapapa v PURC

U21 Men

Arthur Bayliss Cup Final (1 v 2): Grammar TEC v PURC (Waitemata Park, 1pm)

Stan Foster Memorial Plate Final (5 v 6): College Rifles vs Waitemata

More from Times Online


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -