Hornets named for Tonga match

Hornets Reece Charlie (above) and Jethro Friend (below) are among the four players from the premiers to have made the squad. Times photos Wayne Martin.

Auckland Rugby League has this week named a 25-strong premier squad in preparation for the June 2 Upright Access Mann Cup clash with the Tonga New Zealand Residents.

Among the players named by coach Grant Pocklington is 2016 National Youth Competition winner Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck, younger brother of Vodafone Warriors captain Roger, who this year has balanced playing time between the Warriors’ reserves and SAS Fox Memorial Premiership side the Richmond Bulldogs.

Five members of Glenora’s Grand Final-winning team from last year have made the cut, while 2017 runners-up Pt Chevalier – who are undefeated to date this season – have five players in line to take the field at Mount Smart Stadium.

Hornets Reece Charlie, Jethro Friend, Aziah Ikitule-Filipo, and Johnny (JT) Vuetibau with Mike Farrelly (Team Manager) were named in the side.

  • Pictured: Jethro Friend. Times photo Wayne Martin.

    Auckland squad: Tevin Arona (Pt Chevalier), Kurt Bernard (Glenora), Reece Charlie (Howick), Taylor Daniels (Northcote), Geronimo Doyle (Otahuhu), Jethro Friend (Howick), Roydon Gillett (Mt Albert), Jamel Hunt (Papakura), Phoenix Hunt (Papakura), Aziah Ikitule-Filipo (Howick), Reece Joyce (Mt Albert), Michael Ki (Pt Chevalier), Moses Oge (Bay Roskill), Abraham Papalii (Pt Chevalier), Daniel Reuelu-Buchanan (Glenora), Polima Siaki (Glenora), Chris Sio (Pt Chevalier), Matiu Stone-Dunn (Richmond), Zac Tippins (Glenora), Jordan Tuarae (Glenora), Matti Tuitama (Pt Chevalier), Johnny Tuivasa-Sheck (Richmond), Siave Tupou (Richmond), Johnny Vuetibau (Howick), Cole Waaka (Northcote).