Monday, May 20, 2024

27 locals nominated for College Sport YSPOTY awards 

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Some of the stars at the College Sport Auckland Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards last year. Photo Facebook

Twenty seven individuals from six east Auckland colleges have been nominated for the Auckland College Sport awards to take place later this month.

The College Sport Auckland Young Sportsperson of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate outstanding sporting achievements in nine categories across 34 sports.

The categories are sports, all-rounders, athletes with a disability, service to secondary school sport, student coach of the year, student official of the year, national team champions, international achievement and Olympic and Commonwealth Games achievement.

Macleans College pupil Danielle Asiata represented New Zealand at the Youth Commonwealth Games earlier this year.

All nominees across the categories will be eligible for the supreme young sportsman and sportswoman of the year awards.

Saint Kentigern College was the pick of the east Auckland schools, with 12 individuals nominated for their respective categories. Five St Kents pupils have been nominated in multiple categories.

Jordan Jones of Botany Downs Secondary College has been nominated for Auckland College Sport’s Young Sportsperson of the past three years.

Macleans College had seven students nominated, Howick College five and Botany Downs Secondary College (BDSC), Elim Christian College and Sancta Maria College each had one.

Many of these students were also recognised at the Howick Sports Awards in September this year.

Howick Hornets Rugby League star Braxton Sorensen-McGee, who attends Auckland Girls Grammar School, was also nominated in three categories.

The awards night is at Eden Park on Thursday, November 23.

Auckland College Sport awards local nominees (category in brackets) 

Botany Downs Secondary College 

  • Jordan Jones (Golf)

Elim Christian College 

  • Duncan Ramsey (Gymsports)

Howick College  

  • Lili Tokaduadua (Netball)
  • Ben Hew (Underwater hockey)
  • Daniel Glenie (Underwater hockey)
  • Holly McHale (Underwater hockey)
  • Phoebe Ata (Underwater hockey)

Macleans College 

  • Danielle Asiata (Commonwealth or World Championship representative)
  • Finn Wilson (International achievement)
  • Josephine Zhao (Badminton)
  • Erin Lu (Badminton)
  • Ben Oxford (Distance running)
  • Zoe Benson (Football)
  • Olivia Lin (Gymsports)

Saint Kentigern College 

  • Ramesh Patel (Service to Secondary School Sport)
  • Ashleigh Tuumaialu (All rounder) & (Touch rugby)
  • Coen Anderson (All rounder), (Cycling) & (Triathlon, duathlon, aquathon)
  • Isabelle Bannister (All rounder) & (Triathlon, duathlon, aquathon)
  • Olivia Rooney (All rounder) & (Triathlon, duathlon, aquathon)
  • Ruby Spring (All rounder) & (Cycling)
  • Isabel Gilbert (Athlete with a disability)
  • Tayden Smit (Cricket)
  • Tevita Naufahu (Rugby union)
  • Liv Peebles (Swimming)
  • Emma Anderson (Tennis)
  • Joshua Gordon-Glassford (Triathlon, duathlon, aquathon)

Sancta Maria College 

  • Marielle Venida (Athletics)

More from Times Online


- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -