Thursday, February 29, 2024

Estuary award winners

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -
Member of the Mā Te Huruhuru Artists, Marion Gordon-Flower, stands with the group’s artwork.

The winner of the 15th Estuary Art and Ecology Award is Mā Te Huruhuru Artists for their work Tāhuna Tōrea Rock Pool.

Mā Te Huruhuru Artists has four members – Marion Gordon-Flower, Reuven Blaxall, Neihana Henderson and Chris Zhang – and their artwork was a collaborative environmental sculpture which pays homage to the abundance at the Tahuna Torea Nature Reserve and to leave a light, delicate footprint.

Second place went to Katie Theunissen and her work Estuary, Spring Tide Returned the Moon to Me and third Divyaa Kumar for Ecological Laments I, II, III.

Merit awards went to Franca Bertani for Foreign Bodies and Jenny Tomlin and her work Mānawa seed.

Entries were judged by Francis McWhannel.

Meanwhile the hunt for the winner of the People’s Choice Award continues as voting from the audience remains open until the end of August.

Previous article
Next article

More from Times Online


- Advertisement -